Killer.

Why? Why cancer? Why couldn’t you go after the criminals and killers in the world? Why couldn’t you go after people like Hitler and Hussein? Why don’t you go after the child abusers and kidnappers?

Why go after the children? Why go after the babies who have yet to experience the world? Why go after the mother who has 5 children? Why go after the father who worked hard to make a living for his family?

Why go after the CEO of a multi-billion dollar computer franchise,  who was an amazing father and husband?

Why go after a high school teacher who brought joy, love, and positive energy to every single person she made contact with?

Why go after a classmate who shows ardor for biology with every waking moment that she is in the class?

Lastly, why go after not only an amazing woman who was inaugurated the president of one of the world’s best research institutions just 8 months ago, but the joy and happiness, leader, and role model for over 20,000 college students not including those who she has touched before assuming position at this institution?

Yes, today (03/07) my college informed us that the president who we have only had for 8 months had died from stage 4 colon cancer. Imagine my emotions when I received this message today at 12:20pm. I didn’t know what to say or how to feel. And the sad part was that today was an amazingly beautiful day weather-wise. The sun was shining and it was a comfortable 50 degrees. Who would have thought that the most beautiful days could be the most tragic?

Her death made me think back to when I volunteered for her inauguration. There was a strong urge for me to do it, and I could not explain why. I  remember telling people at the time, “This inauguration is going to go down in history. Our first lady president!” So I wanted to help out with it so that in the future I could say that I was part of the inauguration (It was a lame reason to do it, I know). While helping, I was able to listen to her talk and listen to what she had to say about different topics. The way that she composed herself in everything that she did was so graceful and so energetic. I loved her already, and I was so excited to have her as our president.

I really wanted to meet her one day. Someway somehow. I didn’t know when, but I said I would.

How can cancer be so cruel? How can life be so cruel? Murderers are out there daily taking innocent lives from loved ones, and yet they get to continue living. They run free without a care in the world. It’s unfair and unjust. It’s not right.

The saddest part for me about this entire tragedy was that she went through so much these past few months, and this fact was oblivious to the entire campus. So many people talked about her like she would always be here. Even one of my professors were making jokes about how she was raising our tuition.

We all knew that she had announced the beginning of her treatment for cancer about two weeks ago. I was very saddened by the news, but for some reason it didn’t hit me that she was starting her battle for cancer. I also did not know what that battle entailed.

I cannot even imagine everything that she had gone through during these past few months. The treatments, the pain, the constant stresses made to her body on a daily basis, the internal fight inside her which she had no control over…

Now looking at it, I am glad that she is better. She does not have to suffer or go through anymore treatments. She is finally at peace, and I am all the more grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

